top of page
Search
  • melbingern

What makes a good physique?

For those who are not aware, my style of weightlifting is geared towards having an aesthetic physique. Todays post is going to be talking about certain aspects of your body that appear more "aesthetic". There are so many things that go into this, and of course people are going to have their own ideas of what creates the "perfect physique". This post is purely opinionated.

To start off, I want to talk about genetics. I'm sure you all know that one person who hardly works out, or works out with minimal effort, and is naturally gifted with a good physique. And on the other hand, the other guy you know trains hard, eats proper, and hardly looks like they work out. Everyone has a different body, and everyone responds different to different stimuli as well. I think its important to state that even though you may not be gifted with good genetics for building muscle, or maybe you have odd insertions, its still a habit that you should be pursuing.

Let's talk about muscle insertions. This is where your muscle originates, and inserts from. For example, lets talk about Arnold. Arnold was probably blessed with the finest chest genetics in the world. He has a wide, full, and broad chest. The fibers insert right next to each other in the middle, giving him a line down his chest. I on the other hand, was not so blessed. My pec muscles insert far away from eachother, so essentially, no matter how far I take the maturity of my pec muscles, I will never be able to get the line down my chest. It is what it is. The chest is probbaly the best example I can think of. Calves are also a muscle where the insertions really determine the aesthetic.

Lastly I want to talk about measurements of the body. I'll use classic physique competitors for this one. The classic physique is all about symmetry, and ratios. A lot times you'll see people like Cbum, with the broad shoulders, and narrow waist. This plays a big role in achieving the classic aesthetic look. However, some people aren't built like this. Some may all have a blocky wasit, maybe high lat insertions, and narrower clavicle bones. It is what it is.

So my point is, no matter what hand you were delt, train hard. Reap the benefits from lifting weights, and don't focus on the things you cannot change.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page